Tags

, , ,

I’d like to kick things off with something I want to make ongoing: my pick for a game of the month. Because I do not have access to a plethora of funds nor a heavy repertoire of games at the moment, I’m going to spotlight games I think you should play. They might be games that have been out for a while, or games you’ve likely already played. The bottom line reamins, however: I like them.

The first on my list is Darksiders, the action-adventure game from up and coming Vigil Games. For a young company, they already have an impressive résumé. Owned by THQ, formed by Joe Madureira and David Adams, it can only mean one thing for the future: awesome.

For the present, their break-out game Darksiders has captured the attention of gamers. Set in a literal post-Apocalyptic world, you are War – the first Horseman of the Apocalypse. Blamed for the untimely destruction of the world, and stripped of his rank, War sets out on a quest for vengeance. Which appropriately means, you will kill some bitches.


What sets Darksiders apart, for me at least, is the homage to the comic book industry the game exudes; it comes as no surprise since Mr. Madureira himself was a comic book artist. But everything from the art direction, to the voice acting, to the over-the-top finishers War performs seems to have sprung to life from the pages of a comic book.

The mechanics of the game are no less glorified. War himself is built like an Adeptus Astartes, albeit weilding a gigantic sword dubbed “Chaoseater”, but he moves as fluidly as water down a stream. The combat system seems at first glance to be a button masher, but mastery over the system proves to be a tactical and enjoyable experience. I found the Zelda-esque dungeon puzzles refreshing, rather than repetitive, and can only count it as another asset to the game itself.

The score to the game is something often overlooked by reviewers, as with most games, but it is driven, moving and subtle precisely where it needs to be.

There is very little to complain about Darksiders. I had eschewed it for a time, but it has proven to be a worthwhile purchase. I look forward to what else Vigil Games has in store.

~JazFusion

“and with strange aeons, even death may die”

