Pardon the dust as things get settled here!

Greetings to you all, and welcome to Name/Job/Bye: a gaming blog. Marginally original, don’t you think? After the fall of my other gaming blog I co-authored with my husband, I still felt the need to blog. Perhaps because I’m mad, or perhaps because I like talking to myself. Because really, that’s what blogging is all about: writing to yourself as if someone else is listening. Faintly bizarre, but under control.

Internet, you have such secrecy.

Introductions are probably the hardest thing about blogging. In one fell swoop I must mesmerize your attention and declare myself unique among the many, many denizens of the internet. How do most bloggers accomplish this? By a little old trick we call the “FAQ”. Let’s get started.

Who are you?

For the moment you may refer to me as JazFusion: my slightly elusive digital alter ego. I’m the mother of a beautiful son and happily married to the man who swept me off my feet.

What is this blog? Why should I care?

It’s all about…well, video games. My interests are vast, but video gaming I’ve been doing since I was three years old. You old-timers might sneer and hrmph, citing how many more years you have, but I’m the same as you: I love to game.

What are your interests?

As I stated, they are vast. I have a very strange dichotomy of interests in the academics and the liberal arts, sprinkled in with abundant geekery. I write poetry, or pretend to, and have been published. For the sake of this blog, though, I will restrict my interests to geekery and gaming. Reviews, articles, editorials, etc. That sort of thing.

So what can’t you do?

Quantum mechanics, physics and simple math. And tap dancing, but I only tell that to my husband so he’ll never ask me to do it in his presence.

Where do you live?

For the moment, the frigid Northeast of the United States. I’m a Southern girl, though. I was born and raised in Texas and miss it terribly. You might hear me lament about this fact often.

What do you look like?

I really am this scary in real life.

What’s your favorite band? Movie? Book? Drink? Video Game? Board game?

King Crimson currently holds the title for my favorite band; though it often switches between Pink Floyd and The Who (I am on a classical kick right now. Piano compositions and Beethoven).

Conan the Barbarian is still my favorite movie. Of all time. Ever in the forever of ever.

Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut currently holds the title of my favorite book; though you will probably always find me reading George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. And H.P. Lovecraft has had a significant impact on my life. (honorable mentions are Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card and The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. But really, I could geek you out with all my favorite writers. Books are my Pavlov’s bell).

I am highly addicted to coffee and diet cola.

Diablo is probably still my favorite game of all time, but…I could give you a favorite for every platform out there. Arkham Horror is my favorite board game; my husband and I host monthly game nights with our friends and it is a very enjoyable game.

Is there anything else of interest I should know?

Yes. Probably.

This FAQ is pretty long. Perhaps you should end it?

Agreed!*

*the sad part is I wrote this myself.

~JazFusion

“everything was beautiful, and nothing hurt

